Andrew Jackson Jihad — Knife Man

26 10 2011

Artist: Andrew Jackson Jihad

Album: Knife Man

Genre: Folk Punk

Year: 2011

Tracks:

1.) The Michael Jordan of Drunk Driving

2.) The Gift of the Magi 2: Return of the Magi

3.) American Tune

4.) Back Pack

5.) Distance

6.) Fucc the Devil

7.) Hate, Rain on Me

8.) If You have Love in Your Heart

9.) No One

10.) Sad Songs

11.) Zombie by the Cranberries by Andrew Jackson Jihad

12.) People II 2: Still Peoplin’

13.) Sorry Bro

14.) Skate Park

15.) Free Bird

16.) Big Bird

Download:

Mediafire (86.8 Mb)

Well, after surviving an unexpected dropping of the harddrive all my music was on, I’m back and able to listen to stuff again.  I’ve been catching up on what just came out (I wasn’t able to do so because I went catatonic with my harddrive) and was delightfully surprised to find out that Andrew Jackson Jihad has a new album out.  I never listened to Can’t Maintain, so If I’m being incorrect let me know, but this a huge change in sound.  People Who Can Eat People Are The Luckiest People In The World was the last thing I listened to from this band, but I can hardly recognize what I hear on this album!  It’s such a matured sound; Sean Bonnette’s whine has been toned down, and likewise for the bluegrass twang in the guitars.  Now, that should be a bad thing, but it isn’t.  This album expands Andrew Jackson Jihad’s sound vastly while still retaining their punchy style, mainly through it’s self-awareness and delightful levity.  “American Tune” is filled humility and wit, with it’s resolving chorus: “I’m a straight white male in America, I’ve got all the luck I need.”  And on the wittily titled “Zombie by the Cranberries by Andrew Jackson Jihad,” we get a wordy verse: “I wish to God I had some spare change every time a perfect stranger asked me for some spare change, but there’s not enough spare change in the world to make such an empty gesture count.”  The entire album is a pleasure to listen to, and I strongly recommend it.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

