Chain and the Gang — Music’s Not For Everyone

24 02 2011

Artist: Chain and the Gang

Album: Music’s Not For Everyone

Genre: Garage Rock

Year: 2011


1.) Why Not?

2.) Not Good Enough

3.) For Practical Reason (I Love You)

4.) Livin’ Rough

5.) It’s A Hard, Hard Job (Keeping Everybody High)

6.) Detroit Music

7.) Detroit Music Prt II

8.) Music’s Not For Everyone

9.) Can’t Get Away

10.) I’ve Got Privilege

11.) Youth Is Wasted On The Young

12.) Not Good Enough (Dub)

13.) Bill For The Use Of A Body

14.) Why Not? Prt III


Megaupload (91.69 Mb; 320 kbps)

Another month, another retroactive blog post that is actually being posted from April.  Hey shut the fuck up I’ve been busy. I don’t know maybe I just got lazy. This is being done on purpose.  So without further ado, let me not introduce you to Ian Svenonius, for the frontman-genius behind the likes of Nation of Ulysses, Cupid Car Club, and Make-Up is a man who needs no introduction.  However, if you need some introduction to his latest garage rock unit, Chain and the Gang, that can be forgiven.  Music’s Not For Everyone is their second LP, following 2009’s Down With Liberty… Up With Chains!, and the difference between the two albums is immediately noticeable.  Although Music’s Not For Everyone is just as lyrically driven as Down With Liberty… Up With Chains!, the stakes have clearly been raised in terms of delivery, as Chain and the Gang’s sound is much more fleshed out in this record.  Some shifts in production direction have allowed for much more focus on the motown revival instrumentation, but even at that, it’s hardly the first thing that hits you when you listen to this LP.  As I’ve previously suggested, it’s Svenonius’ insatiable wit that drives that record forward, with clever and dark lyrics whose topics range from the usual political class-struggle jive, to forming a Detroit rock band, to musical elitism.  In typical Svenonius fashion, this record mixes down to pure poetry, and if you’ve got a hankering for some versification with soul, then you’ve just found a must-have album.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: